A tiny french twist

Amelie has been rocking her mullet for quite some time now.    It is cute and all but I am getting anxious to actually do something with it.  While playing with her hair as we were brushing our teeth one morning, I discovered I can actually pin it up into a french twist.   Huh.  Turned out to be as simple as making a pony tail and only took one bobby pin.    This is exciting to me because I was never really able to do this myself as a kid, or even adult for that matter.  You see,  I had no hair until I was like, 3.   No, really.   We were toe head babies (white hair) and  just rocked a “glow” for the first year.   After that it was sort of like a muppet thing going on.  Second…well it pretty much goes back to the first.  I didn’t have much hair so I never tried anything creative, including braids.

 The Baby French Twist

It really isn’t a superficial thing at all.  I completely enjoy all our Mother / Daughter moments, and playing with her hair is definitely one of them.   My Daycare provider likes to joke about how her hair will be destroyed by breakfast, but she is completely missing the point.   It is my time with her before work, and even though I may be rushing through everything to get myself ready,  I slow it all down when it comes to Amelie’s turn.   It is the best time to talk to her,  giggle, teach her how to do things, tickle and laugh.   It is part of our morning ritual and I never skip through it.

Cartoons.   Juice.   Dress.   Brush Teeth.   Lotion.   Hair.  And hugs.

After her hair and when we are ready to go, I pick her up off the bathroom counter top and we look in the mirror.   For that moment I am not behind a camera,  looking at her picture on my phone,  or watching someone hold her.   But actually looking right at us.   Together.  Uninterrupted.  Cheek to cheek.  And I see me.  I mean I can actually see me in her face as she has it pressed up against mine, and we are smiling at ourselves.   That moment I am reminded, she really is mine.  That I love getting her ready.   And that I am having the time of my life doing it.

It is better than a cup of coffee to get the spirit pumped.

 

One thought on “A tiny french twist

Share your thoughts

