A Sweet Mother’s Day

field-of-dreams

Ah Mother’s Day.  Still a bit strange to hear, Happy Mother’s Day.  Ive spent a lifetime on the giving end, and this marks just my second year on the receiving.  I guess third if you count the time I was pregnant.   My husband was on board this year and had made special plans.  Being the go-with-the-flow and chill-to-the-max kind of guy, that is saying something.    His plans included breakfast, a day at the zoo, dinner and a shopping treat of some sort, however all three of us were going on week two of a cold so in the end some plans didn’t make the cut.    But I still got my shopping treat!  As for the rest of his big plans, this was no disappointment to me because all I wanted was to hang out with my two favorite goobs and I got just that.  With a side of extra attention.

First and foremost, my husband let me sleep.  God love him.   He was up both Saturday and Sunday morning while I snoozed through Amelie’s morning nap and woke up to a clean living / play room.     Immediately when I woke up, these two greeted me in the hallway.   Amelie came scurrying up with a purpose.  Her arms stretched as she shoved her card at me while reaching up on her tippy toes.  It was as if she wanted me to pick her important Mother’s Day card over Daddy’s and read it.  Like right now.  In Motherhood you come across moments of surprise.  Not actual surprise, but a feeling of complete joy and excitement over something you can’t explain why.  Bewilderment.  It can be a tiny gesture, facial expression, or new word.   You find yourself amazed at how randomly these moments mean the world to you.   Like her motivation to give you a Mother’s Day card.

As for our day, we spent it at Underwood Farms in our home town.   A 5 minute drive.  I know, how spoiled are we.  This time, it was strawberry season so we were I was  pumped to pick my all time favorite fruit.  And of course pan for gold, and pet the goats as usual.

amelie-and-billy-goat amelie-billygoat amelie-brushing-goat amelie-giving-kisses poor-goat mommy-amelie-billygoat-2 cali-the-goat-sqpanning-for-gold hanging-on riding-with-amelie strawberry-fields tree-in-the-fields amelie-picking-strawberries strawberry-picking-fields innocent-face amelie-n-me tada-face waiting-for-the-gold

So that was my Mother’s Day with my daughter but it is a bitter sweet day because my Mom isn’t here for me to celebrate with her. However my day wasn’t without its serendipitous ending.   See there is this book, called Every Daughter Should Have A Book Like This, which my Mom had given to me in 2008, filled with notes, highlighted poems, and thoughts.    I keep the book on the shelf along with the rest of Amelie’s favorites, but haven’t really taken the time to read all of it just yet.  I was just about to call it a day and while getting ready for bed I stepped out of my bedroom and what do you know.   There it was.   Laying at my feet, opened up to the dedication page.

My Most precious Earth Angel Daughter, Sarah Brook…

How do I put into words the feelings, thoughts, memories, and gratitude I have for the gift of being your Mother?  From the 1st time I heard the words “you are pregnant” to this present moment you have filled my life with meaningful purpose, fulfillment, indescribable joy and thankfulness.  Your spirit continually radiates thru your eyes, smile, voice and laughter enveloping all who encounter you with your love of life and playfulness.  In this way, you are truly “my  Otter girl”!

This book may sit unread for many years – perhaps after I have completed this life on Mother Earth.  Then one day you will come across it.

When you do, visualize and remember me sitting on my couch while you slept peacefully in my bed writing these words.  KNOW how very, very much I love, admire and respect you.  KNOW how much joy & happiness you bring / brought into my life.

And above all, KNOW I am always with you & I live in you and your children!

Your Ever So Blessed Mommy xxx

Im sure a little leprechaun I live with had something to do with this.   But there is no denying my Mom’s forethought when writing this.   Happy Mother’s Day to you too Mom.  Good night.

4 thoughts on “A Sweet Mother’s Day

  1. This was a beautiful day of celebrating Mothers Day.  You are truly a blessing and God has blessed you abundently.  Love you girl 

Share your thoughts

